ABOUT INUK


Inuksite.com is designed specifically for children aged 3 to 6, and their parents and teachers. The site represents the interactive component of Inuk, the popular animated series broadcast in Canada by CBC, APTN and Tele-Quebec, and available in some 35 other countries.

Inuksite.com is a uniquely immersive internet offering, mainly because of the engaging voice and character of its host. With Inuk himself guiding children through his magical online world, what may be a child’s first web experience is sure to be a fun and easy one.

In addition to games and educational activities, Inuksite.com also reinforces the positive social values for which the series has become known. At the heart of each Inuk “webisode” lies the desire for peaceful problem resolution and collaborative decision-making.

Inuksite.com also enables a more detailed exploration of such subjects as unique Arctic animals and Inuit customs. Through the series’ characters, children are introduced to the lives of sled dogs, polar bears, and the nomadic Inuit peoples themselves.


INUKSITE’S MISSION

From its beginning, Inuk has been welcomed by Canadian teachers and educational professionals as an invaluable pedagogical tool to introduce young children to the life and culture of Canada’s Arctic, especially as they learn French or English as a second language.

Inuksite.com enhances and furthers that pedagogical approach by emphasizing human cooperation, respect and appreciation for the natural world, the life and environment of the Inuit, all through fun and easy Internet research.

To optimize the Inuk experience for you and your child, see the Parents’ Corner.

À PROPOS D'INUK


Inuksite est un projet de site internet ludo-éducatif s'adressant aux enfants de 4 à 6 ans et à leurs parents et éducateurs. Le site se veut le pendant internet de la populaire série animée Inuk , diffusée au Canada par CBC, APTN et Télé-Québec, et vendue dans plus de 35 pays.

Contrairement à la majorité des sites offerts aux enfants de cette tranche d'âge, Inuksite proposera aux visiteurs une expérience immersive, grâce à l'utilisation judicieuse d'Inuk comme guide. L'emploi d'Inuk comme hôte permet une navigation accessible aux petits, entièrement guidée par la voix. En effet, pour plusieurs enfants, l'expérience Inuksite sera une première expérience web.

En plus d'inclure les sections plus traditionnelles de jeux, le site se ramifie en histoires-parcours au cours desquelles les valeurs éducatives et sociétales de la série sont véhiculées. Au cœur de ces « webisodes », les habiletés de résolution de problèmes sont valorisées à travers des processus interactifs de prise de décision.

Inuksite propose également une exploration ludique de la faune du Grand Nord et des coutumes du peuple Inuit. À travers les personnages de la série, l'enfant se renseigne sur la vie des chiens de traîneau, des ours polaires ou sur la vie nomade Inuit.


LA PROPOSITION ÉDUCATIVE INUKSITE

Depuis sa première diffusion, la série Inuk a reçu un très bon accueil de la part des éducateurs canadiens qui l'ont utilisée soit pour faire connaître aux jeunes enfants la vie et la culture des habitants du Grand Nord canadien, soit comme support pédagogique dans un contexte d'enseignement du français ou de l'anglais comme langue seconde.

Inuksite s'inscrit dans la continuité de cette approche pédagogique, et comporte trois axes d'apprentissage principaux : la coopération, l'appréciation de la nature, de l'environnement et de la vie des Inuits, et l'exploration Internet. Une section s'adresse aux parents et aux éducateurs et vise à maximiser l'expérience Inuksite .